F.C. Gundlach

Noir blanche - Galerie für Fotografie presents the exhibition "VISIONNAIRE" by F.C. Gundlach with very special and some never before shown pictures in an exhibition, probably the most important photographic period of F. C. Gundlach. It was the 60s in Paris, where he worked with the most famous fashion designers of the time.

With this exhibition, Noir blanche - Galerie für Fotografie pays tribute to one of the most famous and important photographers of the post-war period, and his pictures have become icons of photography.                                                                                                                                           

In the final phase of preparations for this exhibition, this exceptional photographer and special person passed away on 23 July at the age of 95.

 

 

"Star photographer F.C. Gundlach reports from Paris!" was the headline of the Deutsche Illustrierte in 1955 and showed the latest creations of Parisian haute couture on three double pages. Christian Dior had just presented his Y-line, Hubert de Givenchy and Jacques Fath showed dense button-fronts and brocade.

Just three years later, things looked very different: "Young men make young fashion" - F.C. Gundlach's pictorial report on the 1958 Paris spring collection focused on the avant-garde: Guy Laroche, Pierre Cardin and Yves Saint-Laurant heralded a new era with their designs, which led to the first Prêt à Porter collections of fashion houses in the mid-1960s.

Always on the pulse of the times, F.C. Gundlach was enthusiastic about the fresh, graphic designs and the clear lines of fashion. With his unerring photographic eye, he staged sporty designs by Pierre Cardin, André Courrèges, Yves Saint-Laurant, Nina Ricci in the studio and on the streets of Paris.

The 1960s! They were the decisive decade of the 20th century for F.C. Gundlach. Emancipation and the pill, the Beatles, Op Art, the student movement and a new openness in thinking changed society. This was accompanied by a new demand on fashion. It had to be sporty and dynamic. It had to be elegant and modern. F.C. Gundlach reflected these wishes in his photographs - contemporary and timeless at the same time.


The exhibition "F.C. Gundlach. Visionnaire" at the Noir blanche Galerie für Fotografie shows photographs taken between 1962 and 1966 that are now icons of this period.


Sebastian Lux

Managing Director F.C. Gundlach Foundation


 

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Volker Marschall

F.C. Gundlach

Noir blanche – Galerie für Fotografie zeigt die Ausstellung „VISIONNAIRE“ von F.C. Gundlach mit ganz besonderen und einigen in einer Ausstellung noch nie gezeigten Bildern,  der wohl wichtigsten fotografischen Zeit von F. C. Gundlach. Es waren die 60er Jahre in Paris, wo er mit den berühmtesten Modedesignern der Zeit arbeitete.

Noir blanche – Galerie für Fotografie ehrt mit dieser Ausstellung einen der berühmtesten und wichtigsten Fotografen der Nachkriegszeit und seine Bilder sind inzwischen Ikonen der Fotografie.                                                                                                                                           

In der Endphase der Vorbereitungen zu dieser Ausstellung verstarb am 23. Juli dieser Ausnahmefotograf und besondere Mensch im Alter von 95 Jahren.

„Starfotograf F.C. Gundlach berichtet aus Paris!“ titelte 1955 die Deutsche Illustrierte und zeigte auf drei Doppelseiten die neusten Creationen der Pariser Haute Couture. Christian Dior hatte gerade seine Y-Linie vorgestellt, Hubert de Givenchy und Jacques Fath zeigten dichte Knopfleisten und Brokat.

Schon drei Jahre später sah das ganz anders aus: „Junge Männer machen junge Mode“ - der Bildbericht von F.C. Gundlach zur Pariser Frühjahrskollektion 1958 konzentrierte sich auf die Avantgarde: Guy Laroche, Pierre Cardin und Yves Saint-Laurant läuteten mit ihren Entwürfen eine neue Ära ein, die Mitte der 1960er Jahre zu den ersten Prêt à Porter Kollektionen der Modehäuser führte.

Immer am Puls der Zeit war F.C. Gundlach begeistert von den frischen, grafischen Designs und den klaren Linien der Mode. Mit seinem untrüglichen fotografischen Blick setzte er sportliche Entwürfe von Pierre Cardin, André Courrèges, Yves Saint-Laurant, Nina Ricci im Studio und in den Straßen von Paris in Szene.

Die 1960er! Sie waren für F.C. Gundlach das entscheidende Jahrzehnt des 20. Jahrhunderts. Emanzipation und die Pille, die Beatles die Op Art, die Studentenbewegung, und eine neue Offenheit im Denken veränderten die Gesellschaft. Damit einher ging ein neuer Anspruch an die Mode. Sportlich und dynamisch sollte sie sein. Elegant und modern sollte sie wirken. F.C. Gundlach spiegelte diese Wünsche mit seinen Fotografien – ganz kontemporär und zeitlos zugleich.

 

Die Ausstellung „F.C. Gundlach. Visionnaire“ in der Noir blanche Galerie für Fotografie zeigt Aufnahmen, die zwischen 1962 und 1966 entstanden und heute Ikonen dieser Zeit sind.

 

Sebastian Lux

Geschäftsführer Stiftung F.C. Gundlach

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Volker Marschall