Alexander Basta

Alexander Basta

 

The photographer Alexander Basta lives and works in Düsseldorf. He deals with faces - he has pressed the shutter button countless times for more than 25 years - he has especially portrayed prominent people such as Isabella Rossellini, Sir Peter Ustinov or Marianne Faithfull. Always in black and white with his large-format camera. He is particularly interested and attentive to musicians from the world elite of classical music. 32 of these musician portraits have been hanging in the Tonhalle Düsseldorf since 2001.


Alexander Basta's main interest is to get in touch with people, to open them up, to get an insight into their soul and to capture this moment. The moment of her life. Basta doesn't like loud photography, the aggressive one that literally takes people off and exposes their secrets. These types of images only attract voyeuristic attention for a short time. Rather, Basta wants to take pictures that will still exist and move in 100 years.


For Alexander Basta, black and white photography is a different kind of photography, a sculptural one. By abstracting, Basta gets to the core more clearly. Nothing distracts from the essential. The pictures become timeless.


Alexander Basta has had numerous exhibitions at home and abroad, editorial publications and is represented in several collections.


Text passages from the interview for "Republic of Culture"

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Volker Marschall

Alexander Basta

Alexander Basta

 

Der Photograph Alexander Basta lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf. Er beschäftigt sich mit Gesichtern – seit über 25 Jahren hat er unzählige Male auf den Auslöser gedrückt – vor allem prominente Menschen wie Isabella Rossellini, Sir Peter Ustinov oder Marianne Faithfull hat er portraitiert. Immer in schwarz/weiss mit seiner Großbildkamera. Vor allem Musiker der Weltelite der klassischen Musik gilt sein Interesse und seine Aufmerksamkeit. 32 dieser Musiker-Portraits hängen seit 2001 in der Tonhalle Düsseldorf.

 

Alexander Basta´s Hauptinteresse liegt darin, mit Menschen in Kontakt zu treten, sie zu öffnen, Einblick in ihre Seele zu bekommen und diesen Moment festzuhalten. Den Moment ihres Lebens. Basta mag nicht die laute Fotografie, die aggressive, die die Menschen buchstäblich auszieht und ihre Geheimnisse entblößt. Diese Art Bilder erregen nur für eine kurze Zeit die voyeuristische Aufmerksamkeit. Alexander Basta möchte vielmehr Bilder machen, die auch in 100 Jahren noch Bestand haben und bewegen.

Schwarz-weiss Fotografie ist für Alexander Basta eine andere Art der Fotografie, eine skulpturale. Durch das Abstrahieren gelangt Basta deutlicher, stärker zum Kern. Nichts lenkt ab vom Wesentlichen. Die Bilder werden zeitlos.

 

Alexander Basta hatte zahlreiche Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland, redaktionelle Veröffentlichungen und ist in mehreren Sammlungen vertreten.

 

Textpassagen aus dem Interview für „Republic of Culture“

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Volker Marschall